Is Coca Cola Halal? Spoiler: it’s halal

RECENTLYa screenshot that allegedly revealed the ingredients of the Coca-Cola drink shocked many Malaysian Muslims.

The screenshot, which was allegedly taken by the US-based Times News Network, whose source was taken from the weekly public radio show and This American Life podcast (which obtained its source from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution), revealed that the drink contains alcohol.

Following the viral claims, the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (JAKIM) announced that Coca-Cola is halal to drink.

“So far, JAKIM’s Halal Hub record data shows that all 14 variants of the drink are still halal certified. In fact, the expiration date of the manufacturer’s halal certificate also applies, “said a spokesperson for JAKIM from cosmos.

The report also states that Coca-Cola Bottlers (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. it met all the stringent conditions before being halal certified and its certificate is due for renewal in 2024.